Sunday, 30 December 2012

Christmas Book Haul!

 As you all may know, I love books. As a result of that, a lot of the presents I got where books. Here are the books I got this year:






In this picture, you will also see the lovely skull scarf I got from my sister for Christmas. It resides in the background.
Here are the books I got:

-Clockwork Prince by: Cassandra Clare
-The Unquiet by: Jeannine Garsee
-The Future of Us by: Jay Asher & Carolyn Mackler
- Persuasion by: Jane Austen
-Sense and Sensibility by: Jane Austen

Book Review: The Raven Boys by: Maggie Stiefvater

My Rating: ★★★
Date Published: September 18th, 2012
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 409
Do I own it?: Yes


Synopsis:

There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”
It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.


Review:

** spoiler alert **


I received this finished signed hardback copy of The Raven Boys by: Maggie Steifvater from my local library's ARC program.

Well. I have a lot to say about The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I remember reading her book Shiver, and I could not finish it because it was terrible. I almost gave up on this book at one point. I really did not like her writing style. It was confusing, and strange. In the beginning, the characters kept talking about a "ley line" and I had NO clue what was going on. The author should've explained what a Ley Line is earlier on.

Blue bothered me throughout the entire book. I thought that she was supposed to fall in love with Gansey??! I wanted her to fall in love with Gansey! Why is Adam in the picture? Blue would not make up her mind which really pissed me off. There were also just too many point of views. There was Adam, Blue, Whelk, AND Gansey. That was just too many point of views for me!

The story was a bit lacking. Gansey would not tell Blue why he was looking for Glendower, and I thought that that was a bit stupid, and the whole "kiss/kill" think was also stupid because it wasn't clear that she was making any kind of relationship with Gansey. Almost the entire book bothered me, but there were some things that I did enjoy, like the fact that Noah was a ghost. That was a really surprising plot twist, and I enjoyed that.

I liked the book, so I think that when the second one comes out, I will in fact read it. The end of the book made up for the fact that the beginning and middle wasn't so great.

Wednesday, 26 December 2012

Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by: Michelle Hodkin

My Rating: ★★★★
Date Published: September 27th, 2011
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 452
Do I own it?: Yes

Synopsis:

Mara Dyer doesn't think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.

There is.

She doesn't believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.

She’s wrong.



Review:

Honestly, I don't think there was anything wrong with this book. I loved every single aspect of the plot, and the characters. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, was truly a masterpiece. The entire book kept me on edge. I wish I could go to the bookstore right now and buy the second one. I don't know why I waited so long to buy this book.

I thought that the plot was really complex, and worked together, and I honestly didn't see anything coming. Especially a certain thing that Noah is able to do. Not only is the cover art beautiful, but so was the writing. That was one of the things that I enjoyed the most about this book. The writing was hauntingly beautiful. This book kept me up till 1 am yesterday, because I couldn't stop reading it.

The characters were amazing. Jude creeped me out, I loved Mara and Noah, Daniel was just adorable, and so was Joseph. Jamie was pretty amazing too. I wanted to punch Anna throughout most of the book though. Claire made me angry too. I really liked the fact that Mara's mom and dad were so caring, and cared a log about her. I also really enjoyed how the book started. The prologue reeled me in right away.

The romance in the book was PERFECT. Some authors push the romance too early in the book, and make they're characters kiss waaaay too much, but in The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, they didn't kiss as much, and didn't even have sex, which was really good. And they also didn't like each other right away.

There is nothing negative to say about this book. Bravo Michelle Hodkin! That WA a fantastic story. Can't wait to buy the second one.

Saturday, 15 December 2012

Book Review: Beautiful Creatures by: Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl



My Rating: ★★★★
Date Published:  December 1st, 2009
Publisher:  Litte Brown and Company
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages:  563
Do I own it?: Yes

Synopsis:

There were no surprises in Gatlin County.
We were pretty much the epicenter of the middle of nowhere.
At least, that's what I thought.
Turns out, I couldn't have been more wrong.
There was a curse.
There was a girl.
And in the end, there was a grave.


Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she's struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town's oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.


Review:  **********************SPOILERS***************************************

I'm really conflicted about this book. When I started to read it, it was okay, but it wasn't amazing. There is A LOT of hype surrounding this series, and I was afraid I wouldn't like the book. Luckily, I liked it enough to keep reading. There were only a few times where it was really interesting, but the rest dragged a bit. Although the rest of the book was alright, the ending really made up for it. I couldn't put the book down for the last 100 pages or so. Ultimately that's what made me give this book 4 stars. The thing that I really liked about Beautiful Creatures, is that the writing is so similar, that it's really hard to tell that two different authors wrote this book.

The only thing that I HATE about this book, was that in the end, she didn't get claimed, and the claiming is pushed back to her 17th birthday. That REALLY pissed me off. The thing is, I knew it would happen. But I really hate that. It's one of the worst ways to end a book. The entire book is leading up to the moment she gets claimed, but she doesn't. The ending was a whole bunch of crap.

I liked the characters a little bit more than the plot line. My favourite characters were; Ridley, Reece, Aunt Del, Marian, Boo, Lena, Macon, and Ethan.

The other characters were okay, but they just weren't my favourites. Apart from that, I gave this book 4 stars. The ending was interesting enough that I will read the second book, but not yet since these books are massive, and I have a big tbr pile to get through

Saturday, 24 November 2012

Book Review: What's Left of Me by: Kat Zhang

My Rating: ★★★★★
Date Published
:September 18th, 2012
Publisher: HarperCollins
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 343
Do I own it?: Yes



Synopsis: 
I should not exist. But I do.

Eva and Addie started out the same way as everyone else—two souls woven together in one body, taking turns controlling their movements as they learned how to walk, how to sing, how to dance. But as they grew, so did the worried whispers. Why aren’t they settling? Why isn’t one of them fading? The doctors ran tests, the neighbors shied away, and their parents begged for more time. Finally Addie was pronounced healthy and Eva was declared gone. Except, she wasn’t . . .

For the past three years, Eva has clung to the remnants of her life. Only Addie knows she’s still there, trapped inside their body. Then one day, they discover there may be a way for Eva to move again. The risks are unimaginable-hybrids are considered a threat to society, so if they are caught, Addie and Eva will be locked away with the others. And yet . . . for a chance to smile, to twirl, to speak, Eva will do anything.



Review:

I finished this in one day guys... What's Left of Me was SO good, that I couldn't put it down. This book has been sitting under my TBR pile for such a long time. I wanted to read it, but I wasn't THAT interested in it, you know? I got this book as an ARC off of Goodreads, and I was going to wait before I read it, because I had other books that I wanted to read before this one. Well, let me tell you right now that when I was halfway through this book, I had so many feels, that I wanted to just cry.



I cannot express how much I loved this book. It was actually one of the most interesting Dystopian books I've read so far. I thought that the idea was really original (although it does remind me a lot of The Host). The characters were so well put together, especially the ones that are Hybrids, because I think of them as two different people. For example, I like Ryan A LOT better than I liked Devon, and I found him more attractive than Devon, even if they look exactly the same. I actually didn't like Hally at first because I found her incredibly annoying. But she grows on you!
The adults in the facility made me so angry, that I wanted to reach into the book, and punch them out. That's how angry I was at times!

I'm so happy that I won this book on Goodreads, because it was excellent. Thank GOD this book didn't end on a cliffhanger. I would've died if it did, because the next book comes out August 29th, 2013.. CAN'T WAIT!

Friday, 23 November 2012

Book Review: The Monstrumologist by: Rick Yancey

My Rating: ★★★★
Date Published: July 20th, 2010
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 434
Do I own it?: Yes!


Synopsis:

These are the secrets I have kept. This is the trust I never betrayed. But he is dead now and has been for nearly ninety years, the one who gave me his trust, the one for whom I kept these secrets. The one who saved me . . . and the one who cursed me.

So starts the diary of Will Henry, orphan and assistant to a doctor with a most unusual specialty: monster hunting. In the short time he has lived with the doctor, Will has grown accustomed to his late night callers and dangerous business. But when one visitor comes with the body of a young girl and the monster that was eating her, Will's world is about to change forever. The doctor has discovered a baby Anthropophagus--a headless monster that feeds through a mouth in its chest--and it signals a growing number of Anthropophagi. Now, Will and the doctor must face the horror threatening to overtake and consume our world before it is too late.

(Short) Review:


This book exceeded my expectations. From the title and the synopsis, it kind of sounds like a joke, right? It's not. The Monstrumologist was one of the scariest books I have ever read. It was so gory! Like, incredibly gory.

I think that the thing that surprised me the most about this book, was the writing. It was excellent! It wasn't childish, and I felt as if I was reading an adult book. At times the writing was a bit dull, and hard to get through, but the action scenes made up for that.

I was actually scared to read this book during nighttime, because it made me super jumpy (My house is right across from a huge forest)....

I cannot wait to read the next one, and I hope it is as scary as this one is. I'm already extremely attached to the characters. Can't wait to pick up Curse of the Wendigo!

Monday, 12 November 2012

November Book Haul! Hardcover love (6 books)

Hardcover Love! 

Probably one of the best book hauls!
I've been wanting to get the three Rick Riordan books for awhile now. I read The Lost Hero when it first came out, but I never bought it. When I went down to the States, I went to a local Half Price Books, and found The Son of Neptune, The Mark of Athena, and The Fault in our Stars for really cheap! They were about $15 each.  thought that this was an amazing deal, so I bought them! (The Lost Hero was a gift from my friend)

I have been wanting to buy the Diviners for so long, that i freaked out when I bought it.

Lets all take a moment to appreciate the beauty of The Diviners;
with cover

without cover

without cover

GORGEOUS!
I cannot wait to dive right into this massive book.

Here is a list of the books:
The Lost Hero by: Rick Riordan
The Son of Neptune by: Rick Riordan
The Mark of Athena by: Rick Riordan
The Fault in Our Stars by: John Green
The Diviners by: Libba Bray
The Notebook by: Nicholas Sparks


Saturday, 3 November 2012

Book Review: Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by: Ransom Riggs

My Rating: ★★★★★
Date Published: June 7th, 2011
Publisher: Quirk
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 352
Do I own it?: Yes

Synopsis:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs. Fiction is based on real black and white photographs. The death of grandfather Abe sends sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, and explores abandoned bedrooms and hallways. The children may still live.


Review:

There was a lot of hype surrounding this book, and after reading it, I totally understand why. So I've been wanting to read this book for a long time, and when I bought it, I was really happy. I was finally about to read it. All of my friends read it, and a lot of people on Goodreads had read it too. I'll tell you right now, that Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar children exceeded my expectations. It was fantastic!

A couple days ago, I was reading a blog that happened to be Ransom's blog (the author) and he said that if you stack all of the books that he sold on top of each other, the height would be higher than mt. Everest. Isn't that amazing? I really think that Ransom Riggs deserves it.

I thought that the book was amazing. The fact that someone can find vintage photographs, and make a story out of it is so fantastic. It really does show that he's an amazing author! The story worked so well with the pictures. Some of the photographs were so scary, it was unbelievable. It wasn't an overly scary book, like I thought, it was more creepy than it was scary, but I think that without the pictures, the book wouldn't be that creepy.

I fell in love with the characters almost immediately after they were all introduced. They were all so lovable and fun, and I really liked learning about all their peculiar talents. All the twists and turns in the book were really well thought out. I did not see any of them coming.

Overall, I really did enjoy this book, and I cannot wait for book number 2!

Friday, 19 October 2012

Book Review: Possess by: Gretchen McNeil



My Rating: ★★★★
Date Published: August 23rd, 2011
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 379
Do I own it?: Yes


Synopsis:
Rule #1: Do not show fear.
Rule #2: Do not show pity.
Rule #3: Do not engage.
Rule #4: Do not let your guard down.
Rule #5: They lie.


Fifteen-year-old Bridget Liu just wants to be left alone: by her mom, by the cute son of a local police sergeant, and by the eerie voices she can suddenly and inexplicably hear. Unfortunately for Bridget, it turns out the voices are demons – and Bridget has the rare ability to banish them back to whatever hell they came from.

Terrified to tell people about her new power, Bridget confides in a local priest who enlists her help in increasingly dangerous cases of demonic possession. But just as she is starting to come to terms with her new power, Bridget receives a startling message from one of the demons. Now Bridget must unlock the secret to the demons' plan before someone close to her winds up dead – or worse, the human vessel of a demon king.



Review:

Possess was a great novel. It was full of creepy moments, action, and a little bit a mystery. Overall it was a great book to read in the month of October, and it was also a greaty story. I haven't read many books about exorcism, so this was a first for me! It was interesting, and since I am religious, I can relate with a lot of the things that were mentioned in the book. Although this wasn't one of my favourite books, it did have it's moments. I liked the creepy doll shop scene, I thought that it was just the right amount of scary for me, and I also liked the ghost cat. I found that really creepy too, but it made the story interesting.

There were some things in the book that I didn't like. One, I found that the author used "Sweet Cartwheeling Jesus" wayyy too much. At first it was funny, but then it just got old. She used it 3 maybe 4 time? I'm not sure, but I didn't find it funny the second time around. I think the author could've used some different expressions. The next thing that I didn't like, was the romance. The romance for me was okay. It wasn't excellent, and at some times I wondered if it really made a difference to have it in the book. The romance at some times was really stupid. They kept having random make-out sessions that were completely unecessary. Especially when they were kissing while they were doing something important. Like, what the hell.

Overall I found this a great book, and it deserved 4/5 stars from me. It was interesting enough to keep me busy on my 6 hour road trip with my family. I know that there is controversy of a second book, because there are some things in the last chapters that hint towards another book, but i'm not sure. Personally, I would love to read a sequel to this book.

Wednesday, 10 October 2012

Book Review: Undead by: Kirsty Mckay

My Rating: ★★★★★
Date Published: September 1st, 2011
Publisher: Chicken House
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 294
Do I own it?: Yep!


Synopsis: (Taken from Goodreads)

Out of sight, out of their minds: It's a school-trip splatter fest and completely not cool when the other kids in her class go all braindead on new girl Bobby.
The day of the ski trip, when the bus comes to a stop at a roadside restaurant, everyone gets off and heads in for lunch. Everyone, that is, except Bobby, the new girl, who stays behind with rebel-without-a-clue Smitty.
Then hours pass. Snow piles up. Sun goes down. Bobby and Smitty start to flirt. Start to stress. Till finally they see the other kids stumbling back.
But they've changed. And not in a good way. Straight up, they're zombies. So the wheels on the bus better go round and round freakin' fast, because that's the only thing keeping Bobby and Smitty from becoming their classmates' next meal. It's kill or be killed in these hunger games, heads are gonna roll, and homework is most definitely gonna be late.
Combining the chill of THE SHINING, the thrill ride of SPEED, the humor of SHAUN OF THE DEAD, and the angst of THE BREAKFAST CLUB, Kirsty McKay's UNDEAD is a bloody mad mash-up, a school-trip splatter-fest, a funny, gory, frighteningly good debut.

Review:

It's safe to say that I am never accepting free samples ever again, especially after reading this book.
This was by far my favourite (and only) zombie book I have ever read. I was actually expecting a lot worse. I thought that it was going to be super cheesy and badly written, but I thought it was perfect!

The story was fantastic, and all the way that everyone got turned into a zombie actually makes sense. I thought that the plot was brilliantly laid out, and the author even put a romance twist in it. There were twists and turns, and also revealed secrets. It was the perfect blend of action, horror and a little romance.

I loved the way that Kirsty Mckay included humour into her writing, but didn't make it so funny that it made the story silly. I actually received this book as an ARC from my local library (the book got published in a new cover) and I only picked it up because it was the only book that wasn't a sequel there. I am really glad I picked it up. I don't regret reading this. Undead is the perfect book to read in October. It was creepy enough to keep me awake at night.

I just wish that this book was a little bit longer. I thought that it was great and all, but it would've been better if it was just slightly larger. I will certainly be reading the second book; Unfed, soon. I really want to know how I ends! I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants a fast-paced action book.

Sunday, 7 October 2012

Book Review: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by: Stephen Chbosky

My Rating: ★★★★★
Date Published: 
February 1st 1999 Publisher: MTV Books and Pocket BooksAge Group: Young Adult
Pages: 213
Do I own it?: Yes! (I own the movie cover of the book) 



Synopsis: (Taken from Goodreads)

Standing on the fringes of life... offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

This haunting novel about the dilemma of passivity vs. passion marks the stunning debut of a provocative new voice in contemporary fiction: The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

This is the story of what it's like to grow up in high school. More intimate than a diary, Charlie's letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating. We may not know where he lives. We may not know to whom he is writing. All we know is the world he shares. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it puts him on a strange course through uncharted territory. The world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends. The world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite.

Through Charlie, Stephen Chbosky has created a deeply affecting coming-of-age story, a powerful novel that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller coaster days known as growing up


Review:

The Perks of Being a Wallflower definitely lived up to its hype! It's a wonderful coming of age story for a young 15-year-old boy named Charlie. This is the kind of book that really sticks with you for a long time. Its an extremely good example of why stand alone books are so great.

After I read this book, I really did feel different. This book changes you. It gives you a different perspective on being a teenager (if you are a teen while reading this book). It really does show you and help you understand things like the people who sleep with other people at a party just because they could. It really was sad at some points too. It had my emotions all over the place.

At first, I was skeptical because of the format that this book is written in. It's written in letters directed to a certain person. I didn't think that you would get the right feel from the book and everything that happens. I was wrong of course. It didn't even feel like it was written in letters. It truly was beautiful writing (only near the middle/end). That's another thing I want to talk about. The writing was terrible at first. It was extremely childish, but later on i discovered that it was supposed to be like this, because Charlie was still learning how to write properly. The last thing that bothered me was how much Charlie cried in this book. The amount of times that he cried was absolutely ridiculous. I mean, I know that at sometimes it was appropriate for him to cry, but at others it really was ridiculous.

Apart from that, I thought that the book was fantastic. It did teach me a thing or two! I cannot wait to see this movie. I know that it's going to be as good as the book.

Saturday, 6 October 2012

October/Halloween Book Haul!

(sorry the picture is crooked xD )


YAY SCARY BOOKS!
Yes I know, I'm happy that I finally got more than 2 books for this haul, and I know it's late. Don't remind me!

-Possess by: Gretchen McNeil (only $5.99)
-Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by: Ransom Riggs
-The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by: Michelle Hodkin (only $4.99)
-The Monstrumologist by: Rick Yancey 
-Undead by: Kirsty McKay (ARC received from my local library)

This is probably one of the best book hauls I've had in awhile! I've been wanting to buy The Monstrumologist , Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children  and The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer for so long, that I nearly cried when I left Chapters. I  think that these are the perfect reads for Halloween, because they all have a creepy sort of setting. Well, before I read all of these, I definitely need to finish The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I'll probably finish that tonight. Count on it!

Monday, 24 September 2012

Book Review: The Crown of Embers by: Rae Carson

My Rating: ★★★★★
Date Published: September 18th, 2012
Publisher: Greenwillow books
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 410
Do I own it?: Yes. I received this book as an ARC from my local public library. (I do still want to own this book in hardcover because the cover is so gorgeous) 


Synopsis: (Taken from Goodreads)

In the sequel to the acclaimed The Girl of Fire and Thorns, a seventeen-year-old princess turned war queen faces sorcery, adventure, untold power, and romance as she fulfills her epic destiny.

Elisa is the hero of her country. She led her people to victory against a terrifying enemy, and now she is their queen. But she is only seventeen years old. Her rivals may have simply retreated, choosing stealth over battle. And no one within her court trusts her-except Hector, the commander of the royal guard, and her companions. As the country begins to crumble beneath her and her enemies emerge from the shadows, Elisa will take another journey. With a one-eyed warrior, a loyal friend, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with, Elisa crosses the ocean in search of the perilous, uncharted, and mythical source of the Godstone's power. That is not all she finds. A breathtaking, romantic, and dangerous second volume in the Fire and Thorns trilogy.

Review:

Is it possible to love this book more than the first one? Do I really have to wait a year for the third book. The one thing is that I'm so scared for the next book two... I really hope that Rae Carson lets Elisa have her happy ending. With the man she loves... Because in the first book love screwed her over... Twice. So in conclusion, if she doesn't get a happy ending, the author might just receive a very angry letter from me...

Apart from that, I enjoyed every minute of this book. Literally! I stopped at every chapter to see where I was in the book, and I was disappointed every time I got closer to the end:( This book on the other hand, did no disappoint! The Crown of Embers was full of magic, palace intrigue, romance, action, mystery, and more! It was everything you could possibly want in a wonderful fantasy book.

There was action in every chapter. This book really did keep me on my toes! It kept me guessing, and anticipating what will happen next! There were so many things that I didn't expect! I won't name any of them, because I want this review to be spoiler free!


Seriously though, if you haven't read The Girl of Fire and Thorns, go read it now. It was so amazing. It made my favourites list!:)

Friday, 21 September 2012

Book Review: The Girl of Fire and Thorns (LOVE THIS BOOK) by: Rae Carson

My Rating: ★★★★★
Date Published: September 20th, 2011
Publisher: Greenwillow books
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 424
Do I own it?: No :( I will buy it ASAP!

Synopsis: (Taken from Goodreads)

Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness.

Elisa is the chosen one.
But she is also the younger of two princesses, the one who has never done anything remarkable. She can't see how she ever will.
Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs the chosen one, not a failure of a princess.
And he's not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies seething with dark magic are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people's savior. And he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake.
Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young.
Most of the chosen do.

Review:

I cannot love this book more than anything right now. I first found out about this book through the second book. My local library has a program where you can basically get an ARC for free. I grabbed this Arc called The Crown of Embers. It had an amazing cover, and I was in a rush. It's only that when I got home, I found out that it was a sequel to a book called The Girl of Fire and Thorns. I decided to check out the first book from the library. When I received it, I wasn't sure if I would like it or not, but it was fabulous! I did not expect myself to love this book so much! I could not put it down starting from the first chapter. Everything about the story drew me in when I started reading.
One thing that I really admired about this book, was that the Author Rae Carson is not afraid of killing characters off, even though their deaths hit close to home. I was excited, because the very concept of this book is exciting and new. And guess what? It wasn't Dystopian! Also I was excited that Rae incorporated God a lot in this book (yea I a religious)

This book deserves much more hype than books like Pushing the Limits. Especially since it's a debut novel! I cannot wait to see what happens in The Crown of Embers!

Monday, 17 September 2012

How to go Thrifting (book edition)

Without a doubt, we all love new books. Just going to the bookstore and buying a brand new book with a shiny cover, and pages that smell nice. It's heaven! Personally, I love it and if I could live in a book store I would. It's my favourite hobby (buying/reading books) but it's a very expensive hobby. I'm sure that a lot of my fellow book nerds would agree, especially the ones in Canada (like me). We can't always afford to buy 3 hardcover books all over $22 dollars. Don't you wish you could buy good books for a lot cheaper than their regular price? of course you do! I'm sure a lot of people already know that you can buy used books, but where? Some people buy them at garage sales, or library book sales. Well little did you know that Value Village and Salvation army have books too. Okay so thrifting is a term I use to say that i'm buying used clothes from Value Village, or places like it. I do thrift a lot because you can find really good stuff if you look hard enough. It's the same with books. So the other day I went to value village with a couple of friends I bought my Halloween costume (they have good ones there and you are never too old to dress up for Halloween) and I looked through the sweaters because I love sweaters. (me any my friends have an inside joke about sweaters so we buy one every time we go together) Anyway back to the point! Value Village has a massive amount of books, and I found quite a few very good books in amazing condition, and for very cheap compared to the regular prices.

These are the books that I found there. Amazing right? The lady at the cash register even told me: "Woa you found The Night Circus here? That's a really rare find" and I completely agree with her. It's an amazing find. The original price for The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern here in Canada is $32. No way would I spend that much for a book. The softcover is $20 dollars too... Way too much. But this book right here? Only $4. Yep! I got The Night Circus in hardcover in amazing condition for only $4. Graceling was the same price. I was jumping up and down and squealing with joy when I found The Night Circus. After I left the store, I told myself that I will come back here often to look for books, because I know that there are some good books hiding on the shelves. Save your money, and try your hand at thrifting! I'm sure you will come back with some great books

Saturday, 15 September 2012

Book Review: Pushing the Limits by: Katie McGarry

 
My Rating: ★★
Date Published: July 31st, 2012
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Age Group: Teen
Pages: 384
Do I own it?: Yes



Synopsis: (Taken from Goodreads)

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with "freaky" scars on her arms. Even Echo can't remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo's world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.

Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she'll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.


Review:
I was so disappointed with this book! I expected greatness, but when I read it, I got.....meh. The thing that really bothers me, is that it's sort of a typical book! Un-popular hottie guy meets popular(ish) girl, they fall in love, etc... This wasn't the sort of book that I would read again. Sure a lot of YA readers probably love Noah, but not me. I didn't really swoon over Noah at all. Probably because it's so typical! Every book I read nowadays has the same male lead. It gets quite annoying.

This romance wasn't good at all. It wasn't even romance! It was more lust than romance. Almost everything about this book bothered me to the point of wanting to throw this book out the window. It took me over a month to read this book. Every time I picked it up, I was frustrated because I needed to finish it, and I had many pages to go. It wasn't a book that kept me on the edge of my seat. The only time when I thought that this book was actually good, was in the end when Echo finds out what happened to her that night with her mom. The mystery was mainly the thing that kept me from giving up on this book. I also have a problem with giving up on books. That's when my mild case of OCD kicks in, and I have to finish it or it will bother me for a looong time.

I feel like I am the only person who didn't enjoy this book... Everyone has their own opinion on books, so it's fair. Well if whoevers reading this review wants to read this book, then I would recommend reading it. Who knows, it could be your next favourite book.


I might read the second book, (Dare you to. Beth's story) but I also might not. Curiousity will probably take over and I will either end up buying it, or checking it out from the library.

Sunday, 9 September 2012

Mini September book haul!


So not a big book haul this month. I did not have time to go to the store, but I did go to WalMart and picked up this copy of The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I'm quite excited to start reading it! I have may more books to read before this one though. I also got in the mail What's Left of Me by Kat Zhang, that I won on a giveaway through Goodreads. It sounds amazing so be sure to pick it up when it comes out!

The Perks of being a Wallflower by: Stephen Chbosky
What's Left of me by: Kat Zhang

Saturday, 1 September 2012

Book Review: The Host by: Stephanie Meyer

My Rating: ★★★★★
Date Published: May 6th, 2008
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Age Group: Adult
Pages: 619
Do I own it?: Yes


Synopsis: (Taken from Goodreads)

Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. Our world has been invaded by an unseen enemy. Humans become hosts for these invaders, their minds taken over while their bodies remain intact and continue their lives apparently unchanged. Most of humanity has succumbed.

When Melanie, one of the few remaining "wild" humans, is captured, she is certain it is her end. Wanderer, the invading "soul" who has been given Melanie's body, was warned about the challenges of living inside a human: the overwhelming emotions, the glut of senses, the too-vivid memories. But there was one difficulty Wanderer didn't expect: the former tenant of her body refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.

Wanderer probes Melanie's thoughts, hoping to discover the whereabouts of the remaining human resistance. Instead, Melanie fills Wanderer's mind with visions of the man Melanie loves - Jared, a human who still lives in hiding. Unable to separate herself from her body's desires, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she has been tasked with exposing. When outside forces make Wanderer and Melanie unwilling allies, they set off on a dangerous and uncertain search for the man they both love.

Review:

I don't understand why people say, "It's really good, but it takes a while to get into. The first 100 pages are boring." I thought that the first 100 pages were great! It gave me an understanding of the world, and what was going on. I was quite discouraged when my friend gave me this book, because it is such a thick book. I thought it would take me awhile to get through. It didn't take me long at all, especially for a book with this many pages.


I liked everything about this book. The only thing I was frustrated with, was that Melanie (or wanderer) kept getting beat up. It really did solidify the reason why the Souls took over the world. Humans tend to think that you can solve everything by killing or hurting someone. I love the world so much. Especially the characters. I am so attached to the characters. I feel like I know them personally. I just love them so much. I was so happy for the good ending. I don't think I would've survived if the ending wasn't good. People often compare this book to Twilight. It is absolutely nothing like Twilight. I think that all the negative media portrays Stephanie Meyer in a bad light, when she really is a fantastic author. I loved Twilight before all the negativity. All the hate just killed the books for me. But this book, will never disappoint me. I am very happy that Stephanie Meyer is thinking of writing two more books to this one. The Soul, and The Seeker. I really hope she writes them. I cannot wait for this movie to come out!

Monday, 27 August 2012

Book Review: Bloodrose by: Andrea Cremer

My Rating: ★★★
Date Published: January 3rd, 2012
Publisher: Philomel
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 406
Do I own it?: Yes


Synopsis: (Taken from Goodreads)

Calla has always welcomed war.

But now that the final battle is upon her, there's more at stake than fighting. There's saving Ren, even if it incurs Shay's wrath. There's keeping Ansel safe, even if he's been branded a traitor. There's proving herself as the pack's alpha, facing unnamable horrors, and ridding the world of the Keepers' magic once and for all. And then there's deciding what to do when the war ends. If Calla makes it out alive, that is.



Review: *****MAJOR SPOILERS*****


What.the.hell.

No. Just no.


That was probably the worst way to end a trilogy. I can't believe that Andrea Cremer even wrote that. What was she thinking? I loved both Shay and Ren. I cannot believe that she killed Ren off like that. It broke my heart into a million pieces. AND THEN Anika tells Shay that he has to seal the rift, and that it will return every guardian to their natural form (wolf) WHAT? IM SORRY, BUT NO. WHAT THE HELL??? And then Sabine goes and gives her wolf self to Ansel (okay that was expected and alright) but still...Why couldn't Andrea just leave the characters alone to be happy! Leave them the ability to shift! I am so angry. I don't think I will ever get over this ending.

Apart from that, the book wasn't all bad. The ending was the only terrible part, and it cost the book 2 stars. I liked all the action throughout the book. It kept it interesting and engaging. I loved how Ethan and Sabine were together, and also how Connor and Adne admitted that they are in love with each other. The action was good, but I feel like when they lost Silas, the whole book just went downhill from there. I realllyyyyy enjoyed this series, but the last book could have been a lot better. I am happy to find that there is another book out, a prequel to Nightshade called Rift. I guess i'm buying that next!

Monday, 20 August 2012

Book Review: Silence by: Becca Fitzpatrick

My Rating: ★★★★★
Date Published: October 4th, 2011
Publisher: Simon & Schuster books for Young Readers
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 448
Do I own it?: Yes



Synopsis: (Taken from Goodreads)

The noise between Patch and Nora is gone. They've overcome the secrets riddled in Patch's dark past...bridged two irreconcilable worlds...faced heart-wrenching tests of betrayal, loyalty and trust...and all for a love that will transcend the boundary between heaven and earth. Armed with nothing but their absolute faith in one another, Patch and Nora enter a desperate fight to stop a villain who holds the power to shatter everything they've worked for—and their love—forever.



Review:

This book was excellent, of course. I never expect less from Becca Fitzpatrick. The thing is, although this book was really good, it hints that there is going to be a war. I feel like in every book that I read, if it's Dystopian or not, there is always a war at the end of the series. Authors need to start coming up with better ideas than wars all the time! It's understandable if the way has been going on for a while, and they mention that in the first book, but if it's an upcoming war, or a rebellion, then no. It's really getting old.

Other than that, I really enjoyed this book. I really liked Silence, as well as Crescendo and Hush Hush. This is by far my favourite angel series. I think that this series started the whole angel fascination. That and The Mortal Instruments series. I don't think that I could ever get tired of Patch and Nora. They are just too cute together. I liked everything about this book. Including the magnificent cover. I also like the spine of the book. It's going to look fantastic on my shelf:)

I cannot wait for October 23rd 2012 for Finale to come out!

Sunday, 19 August 2012

Book Review: Vanished (When Lightning Strikes + Codename Cassandra) by: Meg Cabot

My Rating: ★★★★
Date Published: June 28th, 2011
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 560
Do I own it?: Yes

Synopsis: (Taken from Goodreads)

A gift…or a curse?

Jessica Mastriani has never liked attention. All she wants is to make it to high school graduation like any ordinary girl. But when Jess is struck by lightning, she becomes anything but ordinary: suddenly she has the ability to locate missing children.
Now Jess is getting noticed in all the wrong ways and by all the wrong people. The media is obsessed with her and her story. The FBI is tapping her phone. And what’s going on with sexy senior Rob? Soon Jess learns the hard way that not everyone who is lost wants to be found….

With no one to trust, it's up to Jess to decide what to do with her new power—before it’s decided for her.


Review:

Both books were good, but they weren't amazing. First, there were a lot of grammar errors, like words that weren't spelled right. It was quite frequent, that it bothered me a lot. Second, there were some parts of the book that I found were stressful. That is why I come to the conclusion that this is not a book that I would enjoy reading a second time. I will however say that after reading the book, it makes me want to read the second one. I will most likely buy it later. The second Vanished bind-up is not at the top of my to-buy list.

Apart from that, I did enjoy this book. I thought that the idea for the book was quite original. I also liked the fact that the romance in this book was not the main focus. The novel was serious at some times, but it did have quite a bit of humour and sarcasm which I liked. Also, the ending wasn't a cliffhanger. It was the sort of ending that was cute, and funny. The kind of ending that you can end a series with. This is the first Meg Cabot book that I have read, and I am thoroughly impressed with her work. I really enjoyed the fact that Jessica was sarcastic, had a sense of humour, but was also serious when she needed to be. I will definitely be reading more of Meg Cabot's work, in the near future.

Wednesday, 15 August 2012

Book Review: Between the Lines by: Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer

My Rating: ★★★★★
Date Published: June 26th, 2012
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 358
Do I own it?: Yes!


Synopsis: (Taken from Goodreads)

What happens when happily ever after... isn’t?
Delilah is a bit of a loner who prefers spending her time in the school library with her head in a book—one book in particular. Between the Lines may be a fairy tale, but it feels real. Prince Oliver is brave, adventurous, and loving. He really speaks to Delilah.

And then one day Oliver actually speaks to her. Turns out, Oliver is more than a one-dimensional storybook prince. He’s a restless teen who feels trapped by his literary existence and hates that his entire life is predetermined. He’s sure there’s more for him out there in the real world, and Delilah might just be his key to freedom.

Delilah and Oliver work together to attempt to get Oliver out of his book, a challenging task that forces them to examine their perceptions of fate, the world, and their places in it. And as their attraction to each other grows along the way, a romance blossoms that is anything but a fairy tale.

Review:

Two words. SO CUTE! I love fairy tale books, and this is exactly what I hoped it would be! I think that it was a little bit childish at some points, I am surprised at Jodi Picoult's first and successful Young Adult book. The only negative thing that I would say about this book, is that I hate how the author's name is bigger than the book title.

The plot was amazing. I loved every minute of it. I started this book last night, and finished it this morning. I could not put it down, because I had to know how it would end! There was always some action in the plot, or something interesting would happen that would keep me reading. The thing about this novel that I like the most, is the fact that there are so many illustrations to depict what was happening in the story. The pictures were absolutely beautiful! Also, there was different colours for the text depending on who the story was being told from. For Oliver it was blue, and for Delilah it was green. I also really liked how Delilah's first chapter started. "I'm Wierd." Was the first sentence. I thought that that was hilarious.

I fell in love with every single character from the fairy tale. I felt like they were my friends also, and when I finished the book, I was sad because I knew that I would never see them again unless I re-read the book. Since I've been reading so many sequels, I expected this book to have a sequel. Oh well! This novel has made my favourites list! It may be one of the best standalone novels that I have ever read.

Tuesday, 14 August 2012

Book Review: Hush Hush by: Becca Fitzpatrick

My Rating: ★★★★★
Date Published: October 13th, 2009
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 391
Do I own it?: Yes!



Synopsis: (Taken from Goodreads)

A SACRED OATH
A FALLEN ANGEL
A FORBIDDEN LOVE



Romance was not part of Nora Grey's plan. She's never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how hard her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch comes along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Patch draws Nora to him against her better judgment.


But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora's not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is and seems to know more about her than her closest friends. She can't decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For she is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen - and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost Nora her life.


Review:

The question that was going through my mind the entire time I was reading this book, was why didn't I pick it up earlier? Hush Hush has received a lot of hate on Goodreads, and I can understand why. The only negative thing I have to say about this novel, is that the plot was sometimes confusing, and there were too many villains. One is enough Becca! Other than that, it was fantastic.

It was the book that I have been craving to read. The male lead was sexy, dark and mysterious (you know, the kind of guys you DON'T find in real life). Although the plot wasn't all that clear sometimes, Becca Fitzpatrick sure knows how to build up sexual tension! The idea of this book was really exciting because it's the kind of books that I like! I enjoyed this book so much, that about 3/4 through the book, I put it down (reluctantly) and took the bus to go buy the second and third book. I didn't think I could wait to get the sequel. The atmosphere for the novel was almost always dark and had a mysterious edge. To me, Hush Hush bordered Paranormal romance and mystery. There was some sleuthing!
Even though the topic on Angels is overrated and over done, I really enjoyed this book, and it probably is one of my favourite angel series.
I would love to rave about this book for a long time, but I want to go start the second one!

Monday, 13 August 2012

Book Review: Wolfsbane by: Andrea Cremer

My Rating: ★★★★★
Date Published: July 26th, 2011
Publisher: Philomel Books
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 390
Do I own it?: Yes!


Synopsis: (Taken from Goodreads)

When Calla Tor wakes up in the lair of the Searchers, her sworn enemies, she's certain her days are numbered. But then the Searchers make her an offer, one that gives her the chance to destroy her former masters and save the pack and the man she left behind. Is Ren worth the price of her freedom? And will Shay stand by her side no matter what? Now in control of her own destiny, Calla must decide which battles are worth fighting and how many trials true love can endure and still survive.



Very short review:

Wolfsbane was action-packed up until the very end. The ending makes me want to run to the store to get the last book, Bloodrose. Frankly, I cannot wait to see how Andrea Cremer is going to end this trilogy. It is by far the best werewolf series I have ever come across.

I was happy that all the questions I had were finally answered. I still cannot choose which I like better; Ren or Shay.

I was very happy with how this book turned out. It started off right where Nightshade left off, and had the same compelling edge that the previous book did. I thought that everything was very well described and all of the things that were confusing in the first book were explained in this one.

I don't have much to say about this book, but I did find it amazing.

Friday, 10 August 2012

Book Review: Nightshade by: Andrea Cremer

My Rating: ★★★★★
Date Published: October 19th, 2010
Publisher: Philomel Books
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 454
Do I own it?: No (on my to-buy list!)


Synopsis: (taken from Goodreads)

Calla Tor has always known her destiny: 

After graduating from the Mountain School, she'll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers. But when she violates her masters' laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything- including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?



Review: *****SPOILER ALERT*****

Fantastic! Nightshade was amazing! There are so many things I need to say about this book. There are a couple of things that I didn't like about this book too. I'll start with the negative. First of all, the romance with Shay progressed way too fast. They barely knew each other. The first time they hung out, Shay told Calla that he would never let anything happen to her even though he barely knew her. This made me angry because it just progressed way too fast. Second, the sacrifice. I knew from the moment her mother wouldn't tell her what it was, that it was going to be Shay. It was way too predictable. I was a little bit disappointed that it turned out to be so predictable. The last thing that bothered me has absolutely nothing to do with the story. I don't like how the cover of Nightshade doesn't match with the covers of Wolfsbane and Bloodrose. I already bought Wolfsbane (yay!) and I love the cover, but I just wished that Nightshade would match:(

Now on to the things that I like about the story. I love that Calla was bad-ass. Nothing for me is better in a book than having an awesome strong female lead. The action in Nightshade was also just amazing. But the thing that was probably the best in this book, was how the author, Andrea Cremer, managed to make me love both Shay and Ren. I could not figure out who I wanted Calla to be with because I loved both of them. Especially near the end when Ren said goodbye to Calla, I was about to cry. It was just so sad. I really do hope that we get to see more of the pack and Ren in the next books to come. The last thing that I am going to rave about this book, is that whenever I was about to put the book down, some amazing scene would come up and suck me back into the book. It made it incredibly hard for me to put the book down! I think I should start Wolfsbane now, because I was not very keen of the ending of Nightshade.

Wednesday, 8 August 2012

Book Review: The Golden Lily by: Richelle Mead

My Rating: ★★★★★
Date Published: June 12th, 2012
Publisher: Penguin Books
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 418
Do I own it?: Yes. 


Synopsis: (Taken from Goodreads)
The second thrilling installment in Richelle Mead's Vampire Academy spinoff series

Tough, brainy alchemist Sydney Sage and doe-eyed Moroi princess Jill Dragomir are in hiding at a human boarding school in the sunny, glamorous world of Palm Springs, California. The students--children of the wealthy and powerful--carry on with their lives in blissful ignorance, while Sydney, Jill, Eddie, and Adrian must do everything in their power to keep their secret safe. But with forbidden romances, unexpected spirit bonds, and the threat of Strigoi moving ever closer, hiding the truth is harder than anyone thought.


Review:

I don't think that I will ever recover from that ending! This book was so amazing. When I thought that Bloodlines couldn't compare to Vampire Academy, The Golden Lily really can. There were so many surprises in this book. A lot of plot twists, and things you didn't expect, although for me, there were a few things that I found predictable. Overall, the story line was perfectly executed. The only thing is that I didn't find that there was much progress with the whole "alchemist free'ing" thing. I think that all the Bloodlines fans would agree with me that they want Sydney to be free of the Alchemists, and be with Adrian. I hop to see some improvement in the next book. I also want to see a wedding for Rose and Dimitri! Or a scene where they are both in the same room. I will not be satisfied until something is done!

The characters were great of course, but I did not like Brayden. He was a useless character this entire book! I kept hoping that he would go away, and he finally did by the end of the book. I just hope that he does not come back in the third book.

It's safe to say that this book got my approval. It was fantastic of course, and I cannot wait to see what's in store for our heroine in the next book; The Indigo Spell.

Monday, 6 August 2012

Book Review: Bloodlines by: Richelle Mead

My Rating: ★★★★  
Date Published: August 23rd, 2011
Publisher: Penguin Books
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 421
Do I own it?: Yes.


Synopsis:


I wasn't free of my past, not yet.

Sydney's blood is special. That's because she's an alchemist - one of a group of himans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worls of humans and vampire. They protect vampire secrets - and human lives. But the last encounter Sydney had with vampires got her in deep trouble with the other alchemists. And now with her allegiances in question, her future is on the line.

When Sydney torn from her bed in the middle of the night, at first she thinks she's still being punished for her complicated alliance with dhampir Rose Hathaway. But what unfolds is far orse. Jill Dragomir - the sister of Moroi Queen Lissa Dragomir - is in mortal danger, and the Moroi must send her into hiding. To avoid a civil war, Sydney is called upon to act as Jill's guardian and protector, posing as her roommate in the unlikeliest of places: a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California. The last thing Sydney wants is to be accused of sympathizing with vampires. And now she has to live with one.

The Moroi court believe Jill and Sydney will be safe at Amberwood Prep, but threats, distractions, and forbidden romance lurk both outside - and within - the school grounds. Now that they're hiding, the drama is only just beginning. 

Review: 


This spin-off series of Vampire Academy was exactly what I hoped it would be. Although I admit that I will never love Sydney more than I loved Rose's character, and the same goes with Adrian and Dimitri. Bloodline was action packed, filled with plot twists and turns, and filled with unexpected drama. The thing that I liked the most about this book, was that some of the characters from Vampire Academy showed up in the book, which was really surprising and exciting! The only problem with this book, was that throughout the whole time I was reading it, all I could think of is how much I wanted to re-read Vampire Academy. Surprisingly, I only own the last book in the Vampire Academy series, because I read the rest at the library. When I was reading Bloodlines, it just made me want to go out to the store and buy the rest of the series ASAP. Which I will in fact do very soon. Once I have the whole series, I will do one month where I will read nothing but Vampire Academy.

The plot to Bloodlines was a little bit slow in the beginning. I felt as though it dragged on, and the interesting parts of the book didn't arrive until much later. Which is okay because Richelle Mead needed to incorporate some of the events from the last Vampire Academy book, and put them into the story to have them be explained so that the reader can remember what happened. The characters where excellent in this novel. Sydney, Adrian, and Jill were exactly like I remembered them, and their personalities didn't change. I was extremely happy with how this book turned out, and it did deserve the 5 stars that I gave it! Thankfully, I do already own The Golden Lily in hardcover, so I will start reading that right away, and see what Richelle Mead has in store for Sydney.